Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Former Auburn players sign free agent contracts

Former Auburn and Wadley High wide receiver Terrell Zachery is expected to sign a rookie free agent contract with the Baltimore Ravens.

Zachery is among at least 10 former Tigers to sign a rookie free agent contract with an NFL team.

The Carolina Panthers, who drafted quarterback Cam Newton with the No. 1 overall pick and who selected offensive tackle Lee Ziemba in the seventh round, have signed center Ryan Pugh and wide receiver Darvin Adams to free agent contracts.

Joining Zachery with the Ravens is linebacker Josh Bynes.

Other reported signings of Auburn rookie free agents include: Guard Mike Berry (New England), guard Byron Isom (Minnesota), cornerback Demond Washington (Kansas City), defensive lineman Mike Blanc (San Diego) running back Mario Fannin (Denver) and defensive back Zac Etheridge (Oakland).

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

T'Sharvan Bell on Good Works Team

(Courtesy of Auburn Sports Information)

AUBURN – Auburn junior defensive back T’Sharvan Bell has been nominated to the American Football Coaches Association Good Works Team.

Bell is one of a record 132 players from Divisions I, II, III and the NAIA nominated for the team.

Nominees have to be actively involved and committed to working with a charitable organization, service group or involved in other community service activities. Candidates for the Good Works Team have to display sincere concern and reliability, while also having made a favorable impression on the organizations with which they are involved. Athletic ability is not a criteria. Nominations were submitted to the AFCA by college sports information departments.

“The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team is one of the most important awards in college football because it highlights some of the best and brightest student-athletes in the country,” said Grant Teaff, AFCA Executive Director. “With this being the 20th year of this outstanding award, it’s great to see a record number of nominees sent in from some of the leading football programs in the nation. The AFCA is proud to share in this anniversary year with our partners at Allstate.”

Bell has been active in the Student-Athlete Advisory Council’s Beat Bama Food Drive and Toys for Tots while also taking time to visit local elementary schools as part of the Auburn FCA chapter.

Earlier this year, the Kissimee, Fla., native played in the City of Dothan’s Special Olympics volleyball game, facing the team that went on to the Special Olympics World Championships. He also participated in a fundraiser for the American Red Cross/IMPACT Meal for Haiti campaign on campus.

Thursday, July 14, 2011

Tigers selected to pre-season All-SEC team

(Courtesy of Auburn sports information)

AUBURN - Seven Auburn football players have been selected to the 2011 Preseason All-Southeastern Conference Coaches' Football Team, the league office announced Thursday.

Senior offensive lineman Brandon Mosley and sophomore running back Michael Dyer were named to the second team. Junior tight end Philip Lutzenkirchen, junior wide receiver Emory Blake, sophomore defensive lineman Corey Lemonier, junior running back Onterrio McCalebb and senior defensive back Neiko Thorpe were named to the third team.

Mosley played in all 14 games last season for Auburn, starting in 11. He was part of an offense that became the first in school history to rush for 300 or more yards in six straight SEC games during the 2010 season. He was also part of an offensive line that allowed just 23 sacks in 296 pass attempts.

Dyer, the Offensive MVP at the BCS National Championship Game, racked up 1,093 yards rushing during his freshman campaign. He set a new Auburn freshman rushing record, surpassing Bo Jackson’s 829 yards. He started 14 games, earning eight starts, and was named to the SEC All-Freshman Team and the Collegefootballnews.com Freshman All-America Second Team. He averaged 6.0 yards per carry and scored five touchdowns on the season.

Lutzenkirchen appeared in 13 games last season, starting in five. He totaled 15 receptions for 185 yards and five touchdowns, including a touchdown in the Iron Bowl that helped cap off Auburn’s historic comeback in the 28-27 win. He holds the Auburn single-season record for touchdowns by a tight end with five in 2010 and ranks in a tie for second in touchdowns by a tight end in Auburn history with seven.

Blake played in all 14 games last season, starting in six. He hauled in 33 catches for 554 yards while tallying a team-best eight touchdown receptions. Blake set the Auburn record for longest play from scrimmage along with QB Cam Newton on a 94-yard catch and run for a touchdown vs. Louisiana-Monroe last season.

Lemonier played in all 14 games last season, starting one, and was named to the SEC All-Freshman Team. He finished the season with 17 tackles (12 solo, 5 assists), five for a loss, and two quarterback sacks.

McCalebb played in all 14 games, starting four, and finished the season third on the team in rushing yards (810) and second in rushing touchdowns (9). He also set the Auburn single-season record for yards per carry with a 7.5 average. McCalebb finished second on team with 1,123 all-purpose yards and third in total offense with 896 yards while also hauling in seven catches for 86 yards with one touchdown.

Thorpe, a 2010 All-SEC Second Team selection, played in all 14 games last season while starting in 13. He was third on the team with 64 tackles (45 solo, 19 assists) while tallying a team-best nine pass break-ups. Thorpe also totaled a season-high 12 tackles at Alabama, including his lone tackle for loss of the season.

Monday, July 11, 2011

LB Curry leaves Auburn

From staff reports
Auburn linebacker Jessel Curry has indicated he plans to transfer to Delaware, according to a report on Delaware Online.
Curry, a 6-1, 214-pound sophomore, played in six games for the Tigers last season and was in on nine tackles.
He missed spring practice with the Tigers while working through “personal issues,” according to Auburn coach Gene Chizik.
Curry will be eligible to play immediately for Delaware, a Football Championship Subdivision school.

Tuesday, July 5, 2011

Dyer on Maxwell list

AUBURN - Auburn sophomore running back Mike Dyer is one of 66 players on the preseason list for the Maxwell Award, which goes to the nation's outstanding college football player.

Dyer rushed for 1,093 yards for the Tigers last season. Last season's award was won by Auburn quarterback Cam Newton.