Saturday, March 29, 2008

A-Day notes

SPRING AWARDS: Wadley product Terrell Zachery, a sophomore wide receiver, picked up a major spring practice award as the most improved offensive skill player.

Zachery caught 13 passes for 130 yards and two touchdowns in Auburn’s first two scrimmages. This after he saw out last season while working to restore his academic eligibility.

Zachery signed with Auburn in 2006, after setting the state record with 4,410 career receiving yards at Wadley High School.

Other award winners included guard Byron Isom (most improved offensive lineman), defensive end Michael Goggans (most improved defensive lineman), Chris Evans (most improved linebacker), cornerack Walter McFadden (most improved defensive back), defensive end Antonio Coleman (offseason conditioning), center Jason Bosley (leadership; top GPA), tight end Tommy Trott (attitude and effort, offense; most improved GPA), defensive tackle Sen’Derrick Marks (attitude and effort), linebacker Wade Christopher (top freshman GPA).

SEASON AWARDS: Auburn announced individual award winners from the 2007 season. They were tight end Cole Bennett (Shug Jordan Award), defensive tackle Josh Thompson (Mike Kolen Award), cornerback Jerraud Powers (Zeke Smith Defensive Player of the Year), guard Tyronne Green (Ken Rice Best Blocking Lineman) and quarterback Brandon Cox (Pat Sullivan Offensive Player of the Year).

INJURY REPORT: Eight players sat out of Saturday’s A-Day, including defensive tackle Mike Blanc (concussion), defensive end Antonio Coleman (neck), receiver/running back Mario Fannin (separated shoulder), defensive end Raven Gray (knee), wide receiver Tim Hawthorne (broken arm), offensive guard Chaz Ramsey (sore back), defensive tackle Jake Ricks (broken hand) and defensive end Darrell Roseman (shin splits).

No comments: