Thursday, July 16, 2009

Coaches' All-SEC team, Practice date set

Looking up and down the Auburn roster, SEC coaches found difficulty in singling out premier players. That undoubtedly was part explanation and part cause of the Tigers' 5-7 season a year ago.

Auburn placed a pair of players -- DE Antonio Coleman and OT Lee Ziemba -- on the second-team all-SEC squad. RB Ben Tate made the third-team.

No Auburn player was named first-team all-SEC.

Breakdown by team:
1. Florida - 16
2. LSU - 9
T3. Alabama, Georgia - 8
T5. Ole Miss, Tennessee - 7
7. Kentucky - 6
8. Vanderbilt - 5
T9. Arkansas, South Carolina - 4
11. Auburn - 3
12. Mississippi State - 2

Here's a look at the teams:

First-team offense
QB – Tim Tebow, Florida
RB – Michael Smith, Arkansas
RB – Charles Scott, LSU
WR – Julio Jones, Alabama
WR – A.J. Green, Georgia
TE – Richard Dickson, LSU
OL – Ciron Black, LSU
OL – Mike Johnson, Alabama
OL – Mike Pouncey, Florida
OL – John Jerry, Ole Miss
C – Maurkice Pouncey, Florida

Second-team offense
QB – Jevan Snead, Ole Miss
RB – Anthony Dixon, Mississippi State
RB – Jeff Demps, Florida
WR – Brandon LaFell, LSU
WR – Dexter McCluster, Ole Miss
TE – D.J. Williams, Arkansas
OL – Lee Ziemba, Auburn
OL – Clint Boling, Tennessee
OL – Chris Scott, Tennessee
OL – Carl Johnson, Florida
OL – Cordy Glenn, Georgia
C – Josh McNeil, Tennessee

Third-team offense
QB – Stephen Garcia, South Carolina
QB – Mike Hartline, Kentucky
RB – Mark Ingram, Alabama
RB – Ben Tate, Auburn
WR – Shay Hodge, Ole Miss
WR – Terrance Tolliver, LSU
WR – Gerald Jones, Tennessee
TE – Aaron Hernandez, Florida
OL – Jacques McClendon, Tennessee
OL – Zipp Duncan, Kentucky
OL – Mitch Petrus, Arkansas
OL – Trinton Sturdivant, Georgia
C – Jorge Gonzalez

First-team defense
DL – Terrence Cody, Alabama
DL – Greg Hardy, Ole Miss
DL – Carlos Dunlap, Florida
LB – Ronaldo McClain, Alabama
LB – Brandon Spikes, Florida
LB – Rennie Curran, Georgia
LB – Eric Norwood, South Carolina
DB – Eric Berry, Tennessee
DB – Javier Arenas, Alabama
DB – Trevard Lindley, Kentucky
DB – Joe Haden, Florida

Second-team defense
DL – Charles Alexander, LSU
DL – Antonio Coleman, Auburn
DL – Geno Atkins, Georgia
DL – Dan Williams, Tennessee
DL – Malcolm Sheppard, Arkansas
LB – Micah Johnson, Kentucky
LB – Patrick Benoist, Vanderbilt
LB – Rico McCoy, Tennessee
LB – Dont’a Hightower, Alabama
DB – Ahmad Black, Florida
DB – Chad Jones, LSU
DB – Prince Miller, Georgia
DB – Myron Lewis, Vanderbilt

Third-team defense
DL – Jeff Owens, Georgia
DL – Marcus Tillman, Ole Miss
DL – Rahim Alem, LSU
DL – Corey Peters, Kentucky
LB – Chris Marve, Vanderbilt
LB – Jamar Chaney, Mississippi State
LB – Ryan Stamper, Florida
LB – Perry Riley, LSU
DB – Major Wright, Florida
DB – Janoris Jenkins, Florida
DB – Ryan Hamilton, Vanderbilt
DB – Chris Culliver, South Carolina
DB – Reshad Jones, Georgia

First-team specialists
PK – Leigh Tiffin, Alabama
P – Chas Henry, Florida
RS – Brandon James, Florida

Second-team specialists
PK – Jonathan Phillips, Florida
P – Brett Upson, Vanderbilt
RS – Javier Arenas, Alabama

Third-team specialists
PK – Joshua Shene, Ole Miss
P – Spencer Lanning, South Carolina
RS – Trindon Holliday, LSU

Auburn is set to open fall camp on Wednesday, Aug. 5. The schedule and times have not yet been released.

No comments: