Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Auburn's Smalley selected All-SEC

BIRMINGHAM – Auburn senior Alli Smalley was named to the All-Southeastern Conference First Team, the league office announced Tuesday.

The postseason honors were determined by a vote of the league’s head coaches.

“I think it is awesome and a real tribute to Alli, how hard she has worked in this program and to finally be recognized as the great player she is,” said Auburn head coach Nell Fortner. “She is one of those players that is a consummate team player and competitor. I am so proud of her and this honor for her.”

Smalley, a native of Arab, finished the regular season averaging 12.1 points and 3.2 rebounds per game. She posted 11.6 points and 3.6 rebounds in SEC play. She scored more than 20 points in three games this season, including the last two. She tied her season-high with 22 points in Auburn’s 63-58 win at No. 22 Georgia and then set a new season-high with 24 points in the regular-season finale against Kentucky.

“It is definitely a huge honor because the SEC is such a great conference and there are so many great players in the league,” said Smalley. “It was a goal coming into the season, but not something I thought about a lot. I would trade it for a few more wins, but it is a great honor, nonetheless.”

She currently ranks ninth all-time in career scoring at Auburn with 1,557 career points. She is also the Auburn record-holder for career 3-pointers with 218. Smalley hit a 3-pointer in all but five games this season and hit four on three occasions.

Known mostly as an offensive player, Smalley became a defensive presence this season. She leads Auburn in steals with 48 on the season, ranking 10th in the SEC with 1.7 per game. In SEC-only games, she tallied 28, tying for ninth in the conference with 1.8 per game. She tied her career high three times this season with four steals in a game.

Joining Smalley on the First Team are Tierney Jenkins (Alabama), Porsha Phillips (Georgia), Victoria Dunlap (Kentucky), LaSondra Barrett (LSU), Shekinna Stricklen (Tennessee), Glory Johnson (Tennessee) and Jence Rhoads (Vanderbilt).

No comments: